Friday, 20 December 2013

BBC announce they will show nine Grand Prix LIVE in 2014

The BBC confirmed this morning that they will show nine live races during the 2014 Formula One season. The Beeb share the UK's broadcasting of Formula One with British Sky Broadcasting. While sky will show all 19 races live and uninterrupted, the BBC will show a selection of races. The races that the BBC will show live are the following:

March 30 - Malaysia

May 11 - Spain

June 8 - Canada

July 6 - Britain

August 24 - Belgium

September 7 - Italy

October 5 - Japan

October 12 - Russia

November 23 - Abu Dhabi

It is extremely interesting that the BBC have the second race of the season in Malaysia at the end of March and then the next live race won't be until May which is a real shame and then at the end of the season we will have to wait over a month from October 12 - November 23 between the Russian and Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

The BBC will once again broadcast all the races live on their radio platform.

As part of the deal between the BBC and Sky they will once again share live coverage of the British Grand Prix in Silverstone. The BBC's 2013 F1 coverage generated an increase on the 2012 season with  27.8 million tuning in, an increase of 1.2 million.

No comments:

Post a Comment