Sunday, 19 April 2015

Hamilton takes his third win of the season but Raikkonen stars for Ferrari in Bahrain

(Mercedes AMG PETRONAS F1 Team)

Mercedes AMG PETRONAS F1 Team’s Lewis Hamilton took victory under the lights at the Bahrain Grand Prix finishing the race just 3.380s ahead of Scuderia Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen. Hamilton encountered a problem with his brake by wire system with two laps to go.

Kimi Raikkonen secured his first podium since 2013 and his first since his return to Ferrari last season. The Iceman started the race from 4th place on the grid and got past Mercedes Nico Rosberg into turn 1 only for the German to retake second place. Raikkonen managed to get past Rosberg once again to take his third podium in Bahrain since 2012.

Rosberg finished the race in third place despite suffering a brake by wire system one and a half laps from the end of the race. Mercedes Toto Wolff confirmed that the brakes overheated as the team suffered traffic.

Williams Martini Racing Team’s Valtteri Bottas did a fantastic job to finish the race in fourth place keeping Scuderia Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel who ended the race in fifth place. Infiniti Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo drove a great race for the Milton Keynes based outfit to finish the race in sixth place despite suffering a power unit blow out right at the very end of the race.

The Lotus F1 Team’s Romain Grosjean continued the Enstone outfits points scoring run as the Frenchman scored his second top ten finish in a row as he ended the race in seventh place.

The Sahara Force India Formula One Team’s Sergio ‘Checco’ Perez drove well to finish the race in eighth place having started the race from eleventh place on the grid. Infiniti Red Bull Racing’s Daniil Kvyat recovered from a difficult qualifying to end the race in 9th place. The Williams Martini Racing Team’s Felipe Massa did well to round out the top ten.

McLaren Honda’s Fernando Alonso did a great job despite missing out on a point’s finish, the Spaniard ended the race in eleventh place bringing an end to an extremely disappointing race weekend for the Woking based outfit as Jenson Button failed to start the race.

The Sauber F1 Team’s Felipe Nasr finished the race in 12th place just ahead of the Sahara Force India Formula One Team’s Nico Hulkenberg.

Marcus Ericsson finished the race in 14th place just ahead of the Lotus F1 Team’s Pastor Maldonado. It was another great race for the Manor Marussia F1 Team as both Will Stevens and Roberto Merhi finished the race.

It was an extremely disappointing race for the Scuderia Toro Rosso Team as neither Max Verstappen nor Carlos Sainz finished the race.

Drivers’ Championship after round 4 of the championship

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG PETRONAS F1 Team 93 Points
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes AMG PETRONAS F1 Team 66
3 Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Ferrari 65
4 Kimi Raikkonen Scuderia Ferrari 42
5 Felipe Massa Williams Martini Racing Team 31
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams Martini Racing Team 30
7 Daniel Ricciardo Infiniti Red Bull Racing 19
8 Felipe Nasr Sauber F1 Team 14
9 Romain Grosjean Lotus F1 Team 12
10 Nico Hulkenberg Sahara Force India Formula One Team 6
11 Max Verstappen Scuderia Toro Rosso 6
12 Carlos Sainz Scuderia Toro Rosso 6
13 Sergio Perez Sahara Force India Formula One Team 5
14 Marcus Ericsson Sauber F1 Team 5
15 Daniil Kvyat Infiniti Red Bull Racing 4

Constructors Championship standings

1 Mercedes AMG PETRONAS F1 Team 159 Points
2 Scuderia Ferrari 107
3 Williams Martini Racing Team 61
4 Infiniti Red Bull Racing 23
5 Sauber F1 Team 19
6 Lotus F1 Team 12
7 Scuderia Toro Rosso 12

8 Sahara Force India Formula One Team 11

© Ben Johnston 2015

No comments:

Post a Comment