Thursday, 11 December 2014

McLaren have by far the most experienced line up for 2015


McLaren Honda officially confirmed this morning, after months of speculation that they will have Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso at the team next season.

The announcement comes as the team embark on a new partnership with Honda. The Japanese manufacturer returns to Formula One for the first time since 2008. Alonso and Button have a combined total of 504 Grand Prix starts and this will stand to the Woking based outfit in what will be a challenging start to the season.

However, the fact that they have retained Jenson Button for 2015 they have decided that experience is key to their new relationship with Honda. The 2009 world champion both out-qualified and indeed outscored Kevin Magnussen in 2014.

Magnussen will remain with the Woking based outfit as a test and reserve driver although is not expected to take part in Grand Prix practice sessions as it is thought that the team will want Button and Alonso to have as much time in the MP4-30 as possible with the new power unit.

Button and Alonso also have 2.965 points between them.

With the announcement of the McLaren-Honda line-up, of the team’s confirmed on the grid for 2015 it looks like this:


Lewis Hamilton
Nico Rosberg

Infiniti Red Bull Racing

Daniel Ricciardo
Daniil Kvyat

Williams Martini Racing Team

Felipe Massa
Valtteri Bottas

Scuderia Ferrari

Sebastian Vettel
Kimi Raikkonen

McLaren Honda

Jenson Button
Fernando Alonso

Sahara Force India F1 Team

Nico Hulkenberg
Sergio Perez

Scuderia Toro Rosso

Max Verstappen
Carlos Sainz Jnr

Lotus F1 Team

Romain Grosjean
Pastor Maldonado

Sauber F1 Team

Marcus Ericsson

Felipe Nasr

© Ben Johnston 2014

No comments:

Post a Comment